Tuesday, July 9, 2013

Hindustan Group of Institutions presented Dr. K.C.G. Verghese Excellence Awards – 2013

8:49 AM by Hindustan University ·
Air Asia Group Chief Executive Officer Tan Sri Dr. Tony Fernandes announces commencement of Indian operations and promises to dedicate the first aircraft to Dr. K.C.G. Verghese

Chennai, Saturday, June 29, 2013: Speaking after receiving the Dr.K.C.G.Verghese Life Time Achievement award in Chennai, Tan Sri Dr.Tony Fernandes, CEO AirAsia said that he is greatly moved by the life and vision Dr.K.C.G.Verghese. Hindustan Group of Institutions announced Dr. K.C.G. Verghese Excellence Awards’13 to commemorate the 73rd birth anniversary of their Founder Chairman Dr. K.C.G. Verghese. The Special Guest was Dr. E. M. Sudarsana Natchiappan, Honourable Minister of State for Commerce and Industry, Government of India. The Chief Guest for the evening was Lieutenant General S. S. Jog, Commandant, OTA, Chennai. Dr. Mrs. Elizabeth Verghese, Chairperson, Hindustan Group of Institutions presided over the event and Tan Sri Dr. Tony Fernandes, Group Chief Executive Director, Air Asia was the Guest of Honour and he delivered the commemoration speech.

The event was witnessed by more than 400 people. The journey of KCG Verghese was presented to the audience leaving them inspired with his contribution to the aviation and education industry. The awards aimed to recognise the achievement of individuals who have excelled in their respective fields. Dr. E. M. Sudarsana Natchiappan, Lieutenant General S. S. Jog, gave away the four Excellence Awards and the Lifetime Achievement Award was presented by Dr. Mrs. Elizabeth Verghese.

Speaking on the occasion, Dr. E. M. Sudarsana Natchiappan, Honourable Minister of State for Commerce and Industry, Government of India, said “I’am feeling extremely privileged and honoured to be part of such a great event. Dr. KCG Verghese, with his profound qualities of enthusiasm, perseverance, vision and live networking created a springboard for many aspirants to mould their careers.”

Tan Sri Dr. Tony Fernandes, Group Chief Executive Officer, Air Asia, was honoured with The LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD for his significant contributions to the fields of Aviation, International Associations, Trade and Commerce, Hospitality, Sports and contribution to Malaysia’s growth and development. 

"KCG Verghese is an inspiration and it is an honour to receive the KCG Verghese Lifetime Achievement Award instituted in his memory." said Group Chief Executive Officer of Air Asia ,Tan Sri Dr. Tony Fernandes. We will be in India and will have our Head Office in Chennai.  He also reiterated that, "when Air Asia begins its Indian operations, we will dedicate our first Aircraft to Dr.K.C.G.Verghese." Tan Sri Dr. Tony Fernandes vowed to recruit the airline staff in India from Hindustan Group of Institutions. He added that AirAsia look forward to revolutionise air travel in India by providing services at affordable prices.

The Excellence Award in the field of Culture and Entertainment was given away to Mr. S Priyadarshan Nair, Eminent Film Director, Producer and Screenwriter, for his graceful contribution to the society through his inspirational movies in many languages.  Mr. Mr. Dilip R Vellodi, Chairman and CEO, Sutherland Global Services was presented with Excellence Award in the field of Business, for his outstanding contribution to the industry through his innovative Business Ideas. On behalf of Mr. Dilip R Vellodi, The award was collected by Mr. K. S. Kumar, Head, Global Operations, Sutherland Global Services. Excellence Award in the field of sport was bagged by Mr. Troy Justice, Senior Director, Basketball Operations – International, NBA, For his remarkable contribution to our Nation and the basket ball players of India and the world and for assisting the Basketball Federation of India (BFI) in its development.

Alumnus Excellence Award was given away to Mr. Munirathnam Javaji, Director, Assystem India Private Limited, for being the iconic brand in representing Hindustan Group to the corporate world and carrying forward the Founder’s vision TO MAKE EVERY MAN A SUCCESS AND NO MAN A FAILURE.

On the occasion, a coffee table book titled ‘45 years of HIET’ was released by Lieutenant General S. S. Jog. The book captures the journey of this premier technical institution. Lieutenant General S. S. Jog said, “It is my honour to be a part of such an awards ceremony which recognizes the individuals who have significantly contributed to the cause and benefit of this society at large. I am thankful to Hindustan Group of Institutions for giving me this opportunity. I congratulate the awardees and convey my wishes to students.”
Scholarship of Rs 3 crores has been awarded for Students of Adopted Schools and also for Students of Hindustan Group of Institutions who have excelled in Sports.    

About Hindustan Group of Institutions:

The Hindustan Group of Institutions was founded in 1966 by late Dr. K.C.G. Verghese. He was a true visionary and had realized the need for an institution that offers non-formal technical education. The establishment of Hindustan Engineering Training Centre (HETC) helped in the evolution of Hindustan Institution of Engineering Technology (HIET) which met this need. Dr. K.C.G. Verghese also headed several other group institutions namely KCG College of Technology, Hindustan College of Arts & Science, National Institute of Management Studies & Orient Flight School. These institutions aim at imparting quality education in the fields of engineering, aviation, applied sciences and management.  Institution is proud to have catered to 15,000 students and 1,300 Faculty. 

Standing From Left to Right :

Mrs.Susan Marthandan, Director – Hindustan College of Arts and Science

Mrs.Annie Jacob Verghese, Director – KCG College of Technology

Mr.Munirathnam Javaji, Director , Assystem India & Founder CEO – Javaji M Consulting, (Winner of Distinguished Alumnus Excellence Award)

Mr.Troy Justice, Sr. Director , National Basket Ball Association (NBA), USA (Winner of Excellence Award in Sports)

Shri.S.Priyadarshan Nair, Film Director, Producer and Screen writer ( winner of Excellence Award in Culture and Entertainment)

Dr.Mrs.Elizabeth Verghese - Chairperson , Hindustan Group of Institutions

Lt.Gen.SS Jog, SM, VSM - Commandant, OTA, Chennai - Chief Guest

Tan Sri Dr.Tony Fernandes, Group CEO, AirAsia - Guest of Honour and winner of Life Time Achievement Award

Mr.KS Kumar, Head, Global Operations, Sutherland Global services (Received Award on behalf of Mr.Dilp R Vellodi –Business Excellence Award)

Shri Walter Devaram IPS, Former Director General of Police, Tamil Nadu

Dr.Prem Marthandan, Director – Hindustan College of Arts and Science

Mr.Ashok Verghese, Director – Hindustan Group of Institutions


Post a Comment